Chickens Are Cannibals

What is Food Lady bringing?  WE CAN'T WAIT!
What is Food Lady bringing? WE CAN’T WAIT!

EWWW!!  No, really, they are.

OK, maybe I’m exaggerating a little.  I’m not aware of normal backyard chickens killing each other so they can feast, and I’ve never had that happen with my chickens.

But my hens LOVE eggs and go totally crazy over them.  The egg shells give them needed calcium (which they lose when they lay eggs) and the whites and yolks give them extra protein they need, so it’s a very healthy and beneficial treat for them.  If I drop or crack an egg by accident, off to the hens it goes.  Same for hard cooked eggs that have been in the fridge for a week (keep them in their shell and they last a couple weeks).  They love ’em both raw and cooked.  They will even take them scrambled.

I’ve read that they can, and would, eat cooked chicken.  I don’t doubt they would eat it.  But that is way too wrong.  Seriously wrong.  So I haven’t tried it, and doubt I ever will.

I had heard rumours that if you give chickens eggs, or even egg shells, it will turn them into crazy egg walkers and they will start stepping on and breaking every egg that’s laid to feed their cannibalistic taste.

Not true.

EGGS!!  Nom, nom, nom.
EGGS!! Nom, nom, nom.

I’ve followed several bloggers with backyard chickens, they feed egg shells to their hens all the time and have yet to have a crazy egg-stepping-on hen.  Sure, I’ll see a crushed egg or two in my coop every month, but I have 9 hens that like to use the same laying spot, so it’s bound to happen on accident.

I’m still the food lady that brings them their treats, and they wait not-so-patiently at the gate seeing if I’ve brought anything good–mealworms, lettuce, carrots, or their favorite—eggs.

2 thoughts on “Chickens Are Cannibals”

  1. We had chickens and goats when I was growing up. Everyone thinks a goat will eat anything (and they do eat almost anything), but I found chickens were the real adventurous eaters. All of my family’s table scraps went to the chickens…and those plump hens gobbled it all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

